The State of Ohio has reciprocity agreements with Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming.
Hours for Stark County:
Tuesday, 7:00am to 3:00pm
Thursday, 7:00am to 2:00pm
LICENSE FEES EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 16, 2009:
$67.00 new issue for a five-year license
$91.00 new issue for a five-year license - resident for less than five years
$50.00 renewal fee
$74.00 renewal fee - resident for less than five years
$37.00 emergency / temporary fee
$61.00 emergency / temporary fee - resident for less than five years
$15.00 replacement fee
(new, renewing, emergency / temporary) applicants who have been a resident of the State of Ohio less than five years must undergo the FBI background check
PAYABLE TO THE STARK COUNTY TREASURER.
NO CASH, BUSINESS CHECKS OR PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED.
Sheriff Tim Swanson reports the Stark County Sheriff's Office is providing the listed information to accurately inform the public on the procedures to follow regarding the new Carrying Concealed Weapons Law beginning April 8th, 2004. This information is being provided so as to give citizens guidance in making application for a Concealed Carry Permit in Stark County.
- The applicant must first obtain the twelve (12) hours of weapons proficiency training as
required by the new law. (Check with local sporting goods stores, gun clubs or
collages). NOT OFFERED BY THE STARK COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE.
- Insure the instructors offering the weapons training have a certificate of training from
the National Rifle Association or the Ohio Police Officer Training Academy and are
certified as instructors to teach firearms training. Ask to see their credentials
- Upon successful completion of the training and receipt of a firearm's training
certificate from the training entity, the applicant must obtain a "CCW
APPLICATION FORM" and the "OHIO CONCEALED CARRY LAW PAMPHLET"
as prepared by the Ohio Attorney General's Office. The forms should be made
available to you where you obtained your weapons training or on line at www.ag.state.oh.us or www.sheriff.co.stark.oh.us The application
forms and pamphlets will also be available in the lobby of the Stark County Sheriff's
Office, Monday through Friday 8:00 A.M. until 3:00 P.M.
- The Stark County Sheriff's Office will process applications
on Tuesday's from 7:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m. and on Thursday's
from 7:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. at the Stark County Sheriff's
Office located at 4500 Atlantic Blvd. N.E. - Canton, Ohio. No appointment is necessary.
Applicants will be processed on a first come first served basis.
No applications will be taken on holidays. One applicant will be
processed every half-hour beginning from 7:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m. with a
lunch break being from 11:30 a.m. until 12:00 p.m.
THE APPLICATION FORM MUST BE COMPLETED PRIOR TO A PERSON BEING PROCESSED.
- The applicant must have the following items when coming to the Stark County Sheriff's
Office to process their application for a Carrying Concealed Weapons
a) Their completed application form
b) Copy of informational pamphlet
c) Copies of their firearms training certificate
d) Current photo identification (i.e. drivers license, state identification)
e) Passport size color photo taken within the last thirty-days
f) One of the following methods of payment for the NON-REFUNDABLE APPLICATION FEE:
1) Money Order
2) Cashier's Check
3) Certified Bank Check
- One applicant will be processed at a time and their completed application,
informational pamphlet and method of payment will be reviewed for
completeness and accuracy. Fingerprints will be obtained through the Web Check
System and sent electronically to the Bureau of Criminal Investigation &
Identification for a background check
- The applicant will provide all the necessary information to conduct the required
background investigation by the Sheriff's Office. The applicant will then be
notified as outlined, of the next step on the process.
- The applicant will be contacted within forty-five days by phone or mail
to either schedule an appointment to receive their permit or by certified
return receipt mail to advise them if their application
has been denied and the reason for the denial. The
appeal process will also be explained in the certified letter to the applicant if their
application is denied.
- Any questions anyone may have concerning the Carrying Concealed Weapons law or applying for a "TEMPORARY EMERGENCY PERMIT" can be directed to the Sheriff's Office by either emailing firstname.lastname@example.org or by phoning the Sheriff's Office at 330-451-1383.